Board of Park Commissioners news


Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation


News release from Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation:

Park Board Commissioner Appointed
Park Board President Named

(February 11, 2016) – Justin P. Shurley has been appointed to the Board of Park Commissioners to replace Commissioner Cheri Becker, whose term expired in December after 8 years on the Park Board.

Shurley is Assistant Director of Group Sales for the Fort Wayne TinCaps and is a board member for the Fort Wayne Children’s Choir and the Young Leaders of Northeast Indiana Foundation. Shurley also volunteers for Big Brothers Big Sisters of NEI’s “Real Men Read” program.

“Justin’s experience and commitment in a vital and growing demographic in our community represents an excellent fit to the mission of the Board of Park Commissioners,” said Parks & Recreation Director Al Moll.

Attorney Richard Samek was re-elected President of the Board of Park Commissioners, Pamela Kelly, M.D. was re-elected as Vice President and Al Moll was re-elected Secretary. Both Samek and Kelly are in their third term as Commissioners. The 2016 Board of Park Commissioners is comprised of Richard Samek, Pamela Kelly, William Zielke and Justin Shurley. Overall policy and management direction of the Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation Department is provided by a four member bi-partisan Board of Park Commissioners appointed by the mayor for staggered four year terms.

Following provisions of the Indiana statute (I.C. 36-10-4), the Board approves budget revenues and expenditures, passes bond issues, acquires and improves property, adopts new programs, establishes management policy and regulations, and provides a public venue for community debate and input.


Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here