Fort Wayne Park Board President Named

An old news release from Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation:

Park Board President Named

(February 18, 2011) – Attorney Richard Samek was re-elected President of the Board of Park Commissioners on Thursday.

“Rick’s ongoing commitment to the board has been an invaluable asset,” said Al Moll, Director of Parks & Recreation. “He’s clearly dedicated to improving and enhancing our park system.”

Besides his association with the Parks and Recreation Department, Samek is a partner with Carson Boxberger, LLP, is on the Bike Fort Wayne Task Force and City of Fort Wayne North River Development Task Force, and is a board member for Metro YMCA and the Fort Wayne Women’s Bureau.

Pamela Kelly, M.D. was re-elected as Vice President and Cheri Becker and William Zielke are currently serving as Park Board Commissioners.

Overall policy and management direction of the Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation Department is provided by a four member bi-partisan Board of Park Commissioners appointed by the mayor for staggered four year terms.

Following provisions of the Indiana statute (I.C. 36-10-4), the Board approves budget revenues and expenditures, passes bond issues, acquires and improves property, adopts new programs, establishes management policy and regulations, and provides a public venue for community debate and input.

Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here