USTA Mixed Doubles Championship in town last weekend

USTA logo.

Please note: this happened over the week.

Press release from the USTA:

USTA/Midwest Section Mixed Doubles Championship Heads to Ft. Wayne This Weekend for First Time Ever
Teams from five states compete for chance to advance to nationals.

(September 24, 2010) – Truly the sport for a lifetime! Approximately 250 tennis enthusiasts, including some husband/wife doubles duos, head to Ft. Wayne to compete in the 2010 USTA/Midwest Section Mixed Doubles League Championship from September 24-26.

“This is the first time the event has been held in Fort Wayne. It’s only fitting as we’ve had tremendous growth in our Mixed Doubles Leagues. Our Local Leagues have grown from 190 to 384 participants in the past 5 years. It also means a boost to the economy as these players will stay in our hotels, eat in our local restaurants, and shop in our stores,” said Mayor Tom Henry.

Nineteen teams from five different states across the USTA/Midwest Section will play in the two-day round-robin event scheduled at the host facility Wildwood Racquet Club. The tennis fun hits the courts on Saturday and Sunday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Participants will contend in four different divisions determined by combining the National Tennis Rating Program (NTRP) ratings of the two mixed doubles players: 6.0, 7.0, 8.0, and 9.0 division teams.

The teams qualified for the USTA/Midwest Section Championships by winning their state championships last week. The championship teams in each division will then advance to the USTA League Tennis Mixed Doubles National Championship in Tucson, Ariz., from November 12-14, 2010 (7.0 and 9.0 levels) and November 19-21, 2010 (6.0 and 8.0 levels).

Currently, the Indianapolis-based USTA/Midwest Section exceeds 79,000 individual members and 1,000 member organizations. It is the second largest section of the United States Tennis Association, the National Governing Body for tennis in the U.S. The USTA/Midwest Section is composed of 14 Districts in the following states: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin, as well as designated counties in West Virginia and Kentucky.

Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here