NWS: Winter Weather Advisory


Update of the National Weather Service’s Wind Chill Warning which expires this afternoon:

Wind Chill Warning
URGENT – WINTER WEATHER MESSAGE
National Weather Service Northern Indiana
359 AM EST Thu Jan 31 2019
INZ013-015>018-020-022>027-032>034-OHZ015-016-024-025-311700-
/O.NEW.KIWX.WW.Y.0006.190201T0000Z-190201T1300Z/
/O.CON.KIWX.WC.W.0001.000000T0000Z-190131T1900Z/
Pulaski-Fulton IN-Kosciusko-Whitley-Allen IN-White-Cass IN-Miami-Wabash-Huntington-Wells-Adams-Grant-Blackford-Jay-Paulding-Putnam-Van Wert-Allen OH-
Including the cities of Winamac, Francesville, Medaryville, Rochester, Akron, Warsaw, Winona Lake, Syracuse, Mentone, Columbia City, Tri-Lakes, South Whitley, Fort Wayne, New Haven, Monticello, Monon, Brookston, Logansport, Royal Center, Peru, Grissom AFB, Mexico, Wabash, North Manchester, Huntington, Roanoke, Bluffton, Ossian, Decatur, Berne, Marion, Gas City, Upland, Hartford City, Montpelier, Portland, Dunkirk, Paulding, Antwerp, Payne, Ottawa, Leipsic, Columbus Grove, Continental, Pandora, Van Wert, Ohio City, Lima, and Spencerville
359 AM EST Thu Jan 31 2019 /259 AM CST Thu Jan 31 2019/
…WIND CHILL WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 2 PM EST /1 PM CST/ THIS AFTERNOON…
…WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 7 PM EST /6 PM CST/ THIS EVENING TO 8 AM EST /7 AM CST/ FRIDAY…
* WHAT…Dangerously cold wind chills as low as 35 below zero through early this afternoon. Snow tonight with accumulations of 3 to 5 inches expected.
* WHERE…Portions of northern Indiana and northwest Ohio.
* WHEN…For the Wind Chill Warning, until 2 PM EST /1 PM CST/ this afternoon. For the Winter Weather Advisory, from 7 PM EST /6 PM CST/ this evening to 8 AM EST /7 AM CST/ Friday.
* ADDITIONAL DETAILS…Plan on slippery road conditions. The hazardous conditions could impact the morning or evening commute. The dangerously cold wind chills could cause frostbite on exposed skin in as little as 10 minutes.
PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…
A Wind Chill Warning means the combination of very cold air and the wind will create dangerously low wind chill values. Frostbite can occur quickly and even hypothermia or death if precautions are not taken.
A Winter Weather Advisory for snow means periods of snow will cause primarily travel difficulties. Expect snow covered roads and limited visibilities, and use caution while driving.

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here