USF awards faculty members for excellence


University of St. Francis logo.


News release from the University of Saint Francis:

USF awards faculty members for excellence

(August 20, 2014) – The University of Saint Francis (USF) has awarded two faculty members for excellence in teaching. The awards were presented at the university’s Faculty Scholarship Banquet at the North Campus on Tuesday, Aug. 19.


no images were found


Professor Jane Martin received the 2013-2014 Leepoxy Award for Teaching Excellence. USF students submitted nominations for the Leepoxy Award, which were then reviewed by a faculty committee to determine the recipient. Martin, director of the Communication Program, director of studio operations and professor in the School of Creative Arts, is an exemplary teacher whom students lauded for making education opportunities available, making class fun and worthwhile, promoting student growth in communication and team building skills, challenging students and giving them new insight, providing real world experience, hands-on course work, a phenomenal teacher, adviser, mentor and motivator, dedicated, caring and supportive.

Martin previously earned the university’s Teaching Excellence and Leadership Award and Values in Action Award. She also was designated the Exemplary Adviser for the School of Creative Arts and the Keith Busse School of Business and Entrepreneurial Leadership.


no images were found


Andrea Geyer, assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry, was awarded the 2013-2014 Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award. Nominations and selection were made by faculty members based on teaching performance and service to the campus community. Her nomination commended her rapport with students, creativity in helping with projects, bringing energy and joy to the work, involvement in the campus community, work with professional societies and grants, mentoring high school and undergraduate students, taking a leadership role in service learning engagement, speaking for and co-chairing research events, interactive and pedagogically sound lectures, community service projects and sharing her love and joy for chemistry with her students.

Geyer earned the Adena Carney Award at Parkview-Medical School of Nursing in 1983 and is a member of the Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses, the Northeast Indiana Organization of Nurse Executives and Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.

“We are proud to honor professors Martin and Geyer with these teaching awards,” said Dr. J. Andrew Prall, Vice President for Academic Affairs. “Their commitment to excellence and dedication to students are emblematic of the Franciscan values that guide our mission here at the University of Saint Francis.”


About the University of Saint Francis
The University of Saint Francis, founded in 1890 as a comprehensive university in the Catholic Franciscan tradition, offers more than 80 undergraduate and graduate programs through the School of Health Sciences, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Keith Busse School of Business and Entrepreneurial Leadership and School of Creative Arts. The university’s College of Adult Learning designs focused curriculum for working adults by offering online and accelerated programs, through its Virtual, Fort Wayne and Crown Point campuses. Approximately 2,400 students from a broad geographic region attend USF for its academic excellence.

Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here