Parks board President re-elected

Fort Wayne Parks & Recreation logo

News release from the Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation Department:

Park Board President Named

Attorney Richard Samek was re-elected President of the Board of Park Commissioners on Thursday.

“We value the passion and energy Rick brings to the board,” said Al Moll, Executive Director of Parks & Recreation. “He’s a true leader and devoted to our mission to make Fort Wayne’s park system one of a kind.”

In addition to his involvement with the Parks and Recreation Department, Samek is a partner with Carson Boxberger, LLP. He is a board member of the Fort Wayne Women’s Bureau and Metro YMCA and was original incorporator and past-president of Make-A-Wish of Northeast Indiana (now Make-A-Wish of Indiana). Samek is also a member of various social service and art organizations in Allen County.

Pamela Kelly, M.D. was re-elected as Vice President and Cheri Becker and William Zielke are currently serving as Park Board Commissioners.

Overall policy and management direction of the Fort Wayne Parks and Recreation Department is provided by a four member bi-partisan Board of Park Commissioners appointed by the mayor for staggered four year terms.

Following provisions of the Indiana statute (I.C. 36-10-4), the Board approves budget revenues and expenditures, passes bond issues, acquires and improves property, adopts new programs, establishes management policy and regulations, and provides a public venue for community debate and input.

Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here