Marilyn Moran-Townsend honored with United Way Bill Latz Award for Leadership

News release from the United Way of Allen County:

Marilyn Moran-Townsend Honored with United Way Bill Latz Award for Leadership

(May 17, 2011) – Fort Wayne businesswoman and community volunteer Marilyn Moran-Townsend was honored with United Way’s Bill Latz Award for Leadership on May 17, 2011. The award was presented during United Way’s annual leadership reception at the Lincoln Financial Event Center at Parkview Field.

Marilyn Moran-Townsend is Chairman and CEO of CVC Communications-Business Storytellers (SM), a meeting planning and audio-visual production company specializing in logistics and creative communications. Moran-Townsend has served her community in many leadership positions, including Founding Chair of “Invent Tomorrow,” the first woman Chairman of the Board of the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, and as a member of the Indiana Higher Education Commission. She has received many awards, including the Sagamore of the Wabash, the Indiana Business Leader of the Year and the Athena Award.

Moran-Townsend and her husband Bill Townsend first served as United Way’s Campaign Chairs in 1991 and then Moran-Townsend served as the Board Chair in 1994 and 1995. She saw United Way through a transformative period – taking it from an organization that raised money to fund social service agencies – to one that looks at the big picture and works to make progress on community-wide issues and challenges.

She helped not just United Way of Allen County, but also United Ways throughout the state by serving as a board member for the Indiana Association of United Ways (IAUW). In 1997, she earned the Castaldi Award from IAUW recognizing her as the state’s top United Way volunteer. Moran-Townsend and Bill Townsend are longtime leadership givers. Moran-Townsend continues to serve in the distinguished role as Board Director Emeritus for United Way.

“I am honored to help recognize Marilyn,” said Irene Walters, immediate past chair of United Way’s board of directors. “Marilyn’s commitment to the Fort Wayne area is extensive; she has used her compassion and creativity to benefit the business community, government and the non-profit sector. She has truly distinguished herself as an individual driven by helping others.”

“Marilyn’s time as board chair for United Way of Allen County was one of growth and innovation; she helped ensure United Way adapted to the changes in the economy and non-profit world,” said Todd Stephenson, president and CEO of United Way of Allen County. “On behalf of United Way and the many people our agency has served over the years, I want to thank Marilyn for her outstanding leadership and advocacy.”

The Bill Latz Award is given only when a volunteer has provided extraordinary leadership and service to United Way of Allen County. Recipients will have provided 20 or more years of service to United Way, will be major donors for many years, and will have made other exemplary contributions to the organization. Previous winners include Harriet and Richard Inskeep, Dick Doermer, and Ian and Mimi Rolland.

Bill Latz’s service to United Way of Allen County was extensive, including volunteering for the organization from 1942 to 2007. Latz served in almost every United Way volunteer capacity; he was the Board Chair, Campaign Chair and an Account Executive. He held the distinguished title of Board Director Emeritus and stepped in as Interim Director prior to the hiring of a permanent President and CEO in 1994. Latz and his wife, Danny, were Diamond Donors for more than 20 years. Latz passed away in December of 2007.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here