Stutzman votes for continued ban on taxpayer funding of abortion

no images were found

News release from Congressman Marlin Stutzman:

Stutzman Votes for Continued Ban on Taxpayer Funding of Abortion

(Washington, D.C. – May 4, 2011) – Today, Congressman Marlin Stutzman (R-IN-03) voted for H. R. 3 the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act. This legislation will codify the ‘Hyde Amendment’ by establishing a government-wide, permanent prohibition on federal funding for elective abortions and insurance coverage that includes elective abortions. The bill would also prohibit federal subsidies currently allowed by the patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) or ‘Obama-care’ and prohibits tax-preferred status through health savings accounts. H. R. 3 would also codify the Hyde-Weldon conscience clause.

“We took up this charge today because my colleagues and I remain dedicated to the proposition that all are created equal.” Stutzman stated “You can’t be for choice and for coercing taxpayers to subsidize abortion.”

“Until now, the Hyde Amendment was a provisional “rider” that was in danger of nonrenewal. H.R. 3 permanently codifies the Hyde Amendment by establishing a government-wide, permanent prohibition on federal funding for abortions.”

“Indiana has a strong pro-life commitment. Last week, the Indiana Legislature passed a historic bill that would prohibit all state-controlled funds to Planned Parenthood of Indiana and all other abortion businesses. I am working toward the same pro-life goal here in Washington. Today’s vote was an important step forward.”

More information on H. R. 3 – No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act can be found at


Congressman Stutzman represents the 3rd Congressional District of Indiana and serves on the House Committee on Agriculture, the House Committee on the Budget and the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, Subcommittee on Economic Opportunity. Indiana’s 3rd District contains all of DeKalb, Kosciusko, Lagrange, Noble, Steuben, and Whitley counties; as well as parts of Allen and Elkhart counties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here