NWS: Wind Chill Advisory in effect midnight tonight until 10 am tomorrow

 

National Weather Service

 

The National Weather Service has issued a Wind Chill Advisory in effect from February 23, 12:00 AM EST until February 23, 10:00 AM EST:

URGENT – WINTER WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
405 AM EST SUN FEB 22 2015

…WIND CHILL ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM MIDNIGHT EST /11 PM CST/ TONIGHT TO 10 AM EST /9 AM CST/ MONDAY…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN NORTHERN INDIANA HAS ISSUED A WIND CHILL ADVISORY…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM MIDNIGHT EST /11 PM CST/ TONIGHT TO 10 AM EST /9 AM CST/ MONDAY.

HAZARDOUS WEATHER…

* DANGEROUS WIND CHILL VALUES BETWEEN 10 BELOW ZERO AND 20 BELOW ZERO ARE EXPECTED LATE TONIGHT INTO MONDAY MORNING.

IMPACTS…

* PROLONGED EXPOSURE TO THIS EXTREME COLD CAN LEAD TO HYPOTHERMIA AND FROST BITE IN 30 MINUTES OR LESS.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A WIND CHILL ADVISORY MEANS THAT VERY COLD AIR AND STRONG WINDS WILL COMBINE TO GENERATE LOW WIND CHILLS. THIS WILL RESULT IN FROST BITE AND LEAD TO HYPOTHERMIA IF PRECAUTIONS ARE NOT TAKEN. IF YOU MUST VENTURE OUTDOORS…MAKE SURE YOU WEAR A HAT AND GLOVES.

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here