The National Weather Service has issued a Winter Weather Advisory in effect from January 3, 03:00 AM EST until January 3, 11:00 AM EST:

Winter Weather Advisory

(January 2, 2015) – A Winter Weather Advisory is in effect for the entire area during the early morning hours and into the first half of Saturday for a mixed bag of precipitation. Snow accumulations will be less than half an inch and ice accumulations will be less than a tenth of an inch. Travel may become treacherous along area roads tonight and tomorrow morning. Please be cautious while driving.

By tomorrow afternoon, precipitation will change entirely to rain for the entire forecast area.

Stay tuned for the latest forecast updates on our website at www.weather.gov/iwx.

 

Text of the Winter Weather Advisory:

URGENT – WINTER WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
359 PM EST FRI JAN 2 2015

…WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 3 AM EST /2 AM CST/ TO 11 AM EST /10 AM CST/ SATURDAY…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN NORTHERN INDIANA HAS ISSUED A WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY FOR SNOW…SLEET AND FREEZING RAIN…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 3 AM EST /2 AM CST/ TO 11 AM EST /10 AM CST/SATURDAY.

HAZARDOUS WEATHER…

* TIMING…A PERIOD OF SNOW…SLEET AND FREEZING RAIN WILL ARRIVE DURING THE LATE OVERNIGHT HOURS AND THEN TRANSITION TO FREEZING RAIN INTO SATURDAY MORNING. TEMPERATURES ARE FORECAST TO CLIMB ABOVE FREEZING BY LATE SATURDAY MORNING…CHANGING THE PRECIPITATION TO ALL RAIN.

* ACCUMULATIONS…LIGHT ICE ACCUMULATIONS OF UP TO A TENTH OF AN INCH IS POSSIBLE.

* MAIN IMPACT…ROADS AND SURFACES MAY BECOME SLIPPERY…MAKING TRAVEL OR OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES DIFFICULT.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY MEANS THAT PERIODS OF SNOW…SLEET…OR FREEZING RAIN WILL CAUSE TRAVEL DIFFICULTIES. BE PREPARED FOR SLIPPERY ROADS AND LIMITED VISIBILITY…AND USE CAUTION WHILE DRIVING.

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here