TinCaps Up For Two MiLBY Awards


TinCaps Logo


News release from the TinCaps:

TinCaps Up For Two MiLBY Awards
Fort Wayne On Ballot For Top Offensive Player And Best Blooper

(October 9, 2014) — Hollywood has the Emmys. Sports? The ESPYs. Even The Office had the Dundies. And in Minor League Baseball, don’t forget about the MiLBYs. This year, the TinCaps are in consideration for two MiLBY awards for being the best in Minor League Baseball.

Outfielder Mallex Smith is up for Top Offensive Player, while Parkview Field’s “geyser” is a finalist for Best Blooper. The winners will be determined by an online fan vote running through Thursday, Oct. 23 on MiLB.com.

Smith led all players in Minor League Baseball in stolen bases with 88 — 19 more than anyone else. The 21-year-old from Tallahassee, Fla., played for the TinCaps in the first half of 2014 before earning a promotion in the Padres’ organization to Advanced-A Lake Elsinore after starting in the Midwest League All-Star Classic. Smith posted a .310 batting average and .403 on-base percentage on the season. He scored 99 runs with 29 doubles and five home runs.

While Smith was involved in a number of exciting plays during his time in Fort Wayne, he had a rare day off on April 30 when the TinCaps hosted the Great Lakes Loons at Parkview Field. That was the day Fort Wayne’s Fernando Perez inadvertently kicked open a sprinkler valve down the first-base line while chasing a foul ball. The literal misstep set off an on-field geyser. Video of the never-before-seen ballpark water display went viral online and wound up all over TV on everything fromThe Today Show to World News Tonight to SportsCenter.

“It’s fantastic to see Mallex as a candidate for Minor League Baseball’s Top Offensive Player,” said TinCaps President Mike Nutter. “He’ll be remembered in Fort Wayne for not only being a tremendously talented baseball player, but also for being a first-class citizen.

“And as for the geyser, after having to go through a one-in-13-million play like that, we might as well win an award, right?” Nutter said with a laugh.

2014 TinCaps Accolades to Date

  • Midwest League Rawlings Woman Executive of the Year – Abby Naas
  • Midwest League Sports Turf Manager/Grounds Crew of the Year
  • No. 1 Ranked Midwest League Ballpark (Stadium Journey)
  • Midwest League Postseason All-Star – Jake Bauers


Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here