Ivy Tech Community College announces new academic structure

Ivy Tech Community College logo

News release from Ivy Tech Community College:

Ivy Tech Community College announces new academic structure
Streamlined structure will help students with career tracking, retention

(December 5, 2013) INDIANAPOLIS — Ivy Tech Community College has announced it will restructure its academic division to better align programs with potential career and transfer tracks for students, as well as aid in the retention of students.

The new structure will divide the college’s academic programming into four distinct divisions, including the University and Transfer Division, Health Division, Business and Public Services Division, and Technology and Applied Sciences Division.

“This new structure will provide a clear path for students and more directly align with the students’ end goal after Ivy Tech,” said Dr. Mary Ostrye, Senior Vice President and Provost at Ivy Tech. “Each division has a distinct pathway leading to a career or a transfer track, saving students time and money as they pursue their education goals.”

The University and Transfer Division will include academic programs designed to transfer directly to a related baccalaureate program at a 4-year college or university. It also incorporates Indiana’s transfer general education core with a choice of STEM (calculus-based) or non-STEM pathways. Students who complete a program within the University and Transfer Division will earn the General Education Transfer Certificate and an associate degree in a chosen field of study.

Ivy Tech’s Health Division will encompass all programs that prepare students for a recognized health license or certification. Most programs are selective admission with limited enrollment, and many programs will transfer to a baccalaureate program once the graduate is licensed or certified.
The Business and Public Services Division will include programs designed to prepare graduates for immediate employment and degrees awarded are primarily the Associate of Applied Science. Most programs have related Technical Certificates that can be completed prior to the Associate of Applied Science, while some programs embed certifications; however, this coursework is typically elective and not required to meet degree requirements.

Ivy Tech’s Technology and Applied Sciences Division includes programs designed to prepare graduates for immediate employment or, in a select few programs, may prepare for transfer or employment. Technical Certificate programs are the default enrollment option for the division, and most programs embed multiple nationally-recognized certifications to prepare graduates to take exams upon completion.

For students who are undecided on their potential area of study or career track, Ivy Tech will implement meta-majors programming where students select a broad category, such as STEM, Liberal Arts, Health Sciences or Education to name a few, in which to initially major. No student is identified as being undecided or unclassified via the new meta-majors process. Students in meta-majors are able to complete pre-requisite and introductory courses and are able to narrow their studies to a more specific major in future semesters.

“Ultimately, meta-majors programming allows students to explore, while ensuring that the courses they take will count toward the credits needed for graduation,” said Ostrye. “The meta-majors process will be part of the students standard advising and curriculum process, which will ensure meta-majors are closely aligned with the primary employment sectors within the local community.”

Ivy Tech’s new Division structure will take effect in the Fall 2014 term.


About Ivy Tech Community College
Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here