Freeze Warning in effect late tonight through tomorrow morning

National Weather Service

The National Weather Service has now issued a Freeze Warning for our area:

URGENT – WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
1134 AM EDT SUN MAY 12 2013

…FREEZE WARNINGS AND FROST ADVISORIES IN EFFECT FROM LATE TONIGHT THROUGH MONDAY MORNING…

A HIGH PRESSURE SYSTEM ACROSS THE PLAINS WILL APPROACH THE AREA TONIGHT. THE COMBINATION OF DIMINISHING WINDS AND THE COLD…DRY AIR MASS IS EXPECTED TO CAUSE TEMPERATURES TO FALL INTO THE UPPER 20S AND LOWER 30S ACROSS THE AREA LATE TONIGHT INTO EARLY MONDAY MORNING.

…FREEZE WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 4 AM EDT /3 AM CDT/ TO 9 AM EDT /8 AM CDT/ MONDAY…

HAZARDOUS WEATHER…

* LOW TEMPERATURES LATE TONIGHT AND EARLY MONDAY MORNING ARE EXPECTED TO BE IN THE 27 TO 32 DEGREE RANGE ACROSS THE AREA.

IMPACTS…

* THE FREEZING TEMPERATURES COULD HAVE AN IMPACT ON TENDER PLANTS LIKE FLOWERING FRUIT TREES AND ANY FROST SENSITIVE FLOWER AND VEGETABLE PLANTS THAT HAVE ALREADY BEEN SET OUT.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A FREEZE WARNING MEANS SUB-FREEZING TEMPERATURES ARE IMMINENT OR HIGHLY LIKELY. THESE CONDITIONS WILL KILL CROPS AND OTHER SENSITIVE VEGETATION.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here