Wind Advisory issued

National Weather Service

The National Weather Service has issued a Wind Advisory for our area:

URGENT – WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
417 PM EST SUN FEB 10 2013

…VERY WINDY CONDITIONS FOR MONDAY…

STRONG LOW PRESSURE ACROSS NORTHWEST IOWA WILL TRACK NORTHEAST TONIGHT…AND WILL REACH FAR SOUTHEAST ONTARIO BY MONDAY EVENING. A COLD FRONT TRAILING THIS LOW WILL SWEEP THROUGH THE SOUTHERN GREAT LAKES AND OHIO RIVER VALLEY LATE TONIGHT INTO EARLY MONDAY. GUSTY SOUTHWEST WINDS OF 20 TO 35 MPH CAN BE EXPECTED ON MONDAY BEHIND THIS FRONT WITH GUSTS TO 45 TO 50 MPH A POSSIBILITY.

…WIND ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 7 AM EST /6 AM CST/ TO 9 PM EST /8 PM CST/ MONDAY…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN NORTHERN INDIANA HAS ISSUED A WIND ADVISORY…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 7 AM EST /6 AM CST/ TO 9 PM EST /8 PM CST/ MONDAY.

HAZARDOUS WEATHER…

* SOUTHWEST WINDS OF 20 TO 35 MPH DEVELOPING MONDAY MORNING. GUSTS TO AROUND 45 MPH FROM MID MORNING MONDAY THROUGH EARLY MONDAY EVENING.

IMPACTS…

* DRIVING HIGH PROFILE VEHICLES WILL BE BECOME DIFFICULT AT TIMES.

* SCATTERED TREE AND POWER LINE DAMAGE IS POSSIBLE.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A WIND ADVISORY MEANS THAT SUSTAINED WINDS OF 30 MPH…OR GUSTS OVER 45 MPH ARE EXPECTED. WINDS THIS STRONG CAN MAKE DRIVING DIFFICULT…ESPECIALLY FOR HIGH PROFILE VEHICLES. USE EXTRA CAUTION.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here