Wind Chill Advisory – through 11 am Tuesday

The National Weather Service has issued a Wind Chill Advisory:

Urgent – Winter weather message
National Weather Service Northern Indiana
426 am EST Mon Jan 21 2013

…Lake effect snow and frigid conditions…

Lake effect snow showers have developed and are expected to intensify today across lower Michigan as a secondary shot of cold arctic air moves over Lake Michigan. Accumulations between 2 and 5 inches are expected by late today. Additional accumulations are possible tonight into Tuesday and Tuesday night. Therefore the advisory may need to be extended in some locations later today.

South of the lake effect snow showers…Temperatures will be a few degrees colder and wind chills are expected to drop to between 12 and 18 below zero tonight into Tuesday morning. Therefore a Wind Chill Advisory has been issued for tonight and Tuesday morning across Northern Indiana and Northwest Ohio. Wind chills tonight across lower Michigan will still drop to between 8 below and 12 below zero.

[…]

…Wind Chill Advisory in effect from 8 pm EST /7 pm CST / this evening to 11 am EST /10 am CST/ Tuesday…

The National Weather Service in Northern Indiana has issued a Wind Chill Advisory…Which is in effect from 8 pm EST /7 pm CST/ This evening to 11 am EST /10 am CST/ Tuesday.

Hazardous weather…

* Wind chill readings will drop to between 12 below and 18 below zero tonight into Tuesday morning.

* West winds of 10 to 20 mph with air temperatures in the single digits can be expected.

Impacts…

* Prolonged exposure may lead to frost bite on exposed skin.

Precautionary/preparedness actions…

A Wind Chill Advisory means that very cold air and strong winds will combine to generate low wind chills. This will result in frost bite and lead to hypothermia if precautions are not taken. If you must venture outdoors…make sure you wear a hat and gloves.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here