Excessive Heat Warning issued for tomorrow – 6/28/2012

The National Weather Service has issued an Excessive Heat Warning for tomorrow:

URGENT – WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
153 PM EDT WED JUN 27 2012

…RECORD BREAKING HEAT EXPECTED THURSDAY…

.TORRID UPPER LEVEL HIGH PRESSURE OVER THE PLAINS WILL EXPAND EASTWARD INTO THE GREAT LAKES AND BRING THE HOTTEST WEATHER SINCE 1988.
HIGH TEMPERATURES ON THURSDAY WILL WARM INTO THE LOWER TO MIDDLE 100S.

[…] …EXCESSIVE HEAT WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/ TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ THURSDAY…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN NORTHERN INDIANA HAS ISSUED AN EXCESSIVE HEAT WARNING…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM EDT /10 AM CDT/ TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ THURSDAY. THE HEAT ADVISORY IS NO LONGER IN EFFECT.

HAZARDOUS WEATHER…

* AIR TEMPERATURES AND HEAT INDEX VALUES WILL RANGE FROM 103 TO 107 DEGREES THURSDAY.

IMPACTS…

* VERY HOT TEMPERATURES WILL IMPACT OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES.

* RECORD OR NEAR RECORD HIGH TEMPERATURES ARE POSSIBLE.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

TAKE EXTRA PRECAUTIONS IF YOU WORK OR SPEND TIME OUTSIDE. WHEN POSSIBLE…RESCHEDULE STRENUOUS ACTIVITIES TO EARLY MORNING OR EVENING. KNOW THE SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS OF HEAT EXHAUSTION AND HEAT STROKE. WEAR LIGHT WEIGHT AND LOOSE FITTING CLOTHING WHEN POSSIBLE AND DRINK PLENTY OF WATER.

TO REDUCE RISK DURING OUTDOOR WORK THE OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH ADMINISTRATION RECOMMENDS SCHEDULING FREQUENT REST BREAKS IN SHADED OR AIR CONDITIONED ENVIRONMENTS. ANYONE OVERCOME BY HEAT SHOULD BE MOVED TO A COOL AND SHADED LOCATION. HEAT STROKE IS AN EMERGENCY…CALL 9 1 1.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here