Indiana AFL-CIO endorses candidates for 2012 General Election

Indiana AFL-CIO logo.

News release from the Indiana AFL-CIO:

Indiana AFL-CIO endorses candidates for 2012 General Election
Federation of labor unions endorses candidates that support working families

(INDIANAPOLIS, June 25, 2012) — Today the Indiana AFL-CIO, a statewide federation of labor unions representing more than 300,000 active workers, issued the following endorsements of candidates for the 2012 General Election:

Joe Donnelly (D)

John Gregg/ Vi Simpson (D)

Glenda Ritz (D)

Congressional District
01 Pete Visclosky (D) (I)
02 Brendan Mullen (D)
03 Kevin Boyd (D)
04 Tara Nelson (D)
05 Scott Reske (D)
06 Brad Bookout (D)
07 Andre Carson (D)
08 Dave Crooks (D)
09 Shelli Yoder (D)

State Senate District
02 Lonnie Randolph (D) (I)
03 Earline Rogers (D) (I)
07 Brad Thompson (D)
08 Jim Arnold (D) (I)
10 John Broden (D) (I)
12 Jim Ball (D)
16 Tom Keen (D)
24 Charles Bender (D)
28 Michael Adkins (D)
30 Tim DeLaney (D)
32 John Barnes (D)
33 Greg Taylor (D) (I)
34 Jean Breaux (D) (I)
35 Mark Waterfill (D)
36 Mary Ann Sullivan (D)
37 Jim Cahill (D)
50 Vaneta Becker (R) (I)

House District
01 Linda Lawson (D) (I)
02 Earl Harris (D) (I)
03 Charlie Brown (D) (I)
05 Jerod Warnock (D)
06 Pat Bauer (D) (I)
07 David Niezgodski (D) (I)
08 Ryan Dvorak (D) (I)
09 Scott Pelath (D) (I)
10 Chuck Moseley (D) (I)
11 John Hart (D)
12 Mara Candelaria Reardon (D) (I)
13 Mark Straw (D)
14 Vernon Smith (D) (I)
15 Thomas O’Donnell (D)
16 Rich Ludington (D)
19 Shelli VanDenburgh (D) (I)
22 John Bonitati (D)
23 Kerry Worthington (D)
24 Shane Evans (D)
26 Rick Cornstuble (D)
27 Sheila Klinker (D) (I)
30 Chuck Sosbe (D)
31 Katie Morgan (D)
33 Andy Schemenaur (D)
34 Sue Errington (D)
35 Melanie Wright (D)
36 Terri Austin (D) (I)
40 Sam Follis (D)
43 Clyde Kersey (D) (I)
45 Kreg Battles (D) (I)
46 Jim Mann (D)
47 Chris Grider (D)
52 Charles Odier (D)
54 Tom Saunders (R) (I)
55 Dave Moeller (D)
56 Phil Pflum (D) (I)
57 Todd Day (D)
60 Peggy Welch (D) (I)
61 Matt Pierce (D) (I)
62 Jeff Sparks (D)
64 Mark Norton (D)
66 Terry Goodin (D) (I)
67 Tom Cheek (D)
68 Jake Hoog (D)
70 Terry Miller (D)
72 Sharon Grabowski (D)
73 Sandra Blanton (D)
74 Mike Schriefer (D)
75 Kevin Derr (D)
76 Trent Van Haaften (D)
77 Gail Riecken (D) (I)
79 Mike Snyder (D)
80 Phil GiaQuinta (D) (I)
81 Win Moses (D) (I)
82 Mike Wilbur (D)
83 John Good (D)
84 Lee Jordan (D)
85 Evan Smith (D)
86 Ed DeLaney (D) (I)
87 Christina Hale (D)
92 Karlee Macer (D)
93 Ryan Guillory (D)
94 Cherish Pryor (D) (I)
95 John Bartlett (D) (I)
96 Gregory Porter (D) (I)
97 Justin Moed (D)
98 Robin Shackleford (D)
99 Vanessa Summers (D) (I)
100 Dan Forestal (D)

(D = Democrat/ R = Republican/ I = Incumbent)

“After careful consideration and a thorough examination of the candidates’ records and positions on issues impacting working people, the Indiana AFL-CIO is proud to make these recommendations,” said Nancy Guyott, Indiana AFL-CIO president. “We need more people in elective office who will work for working people, rather than the moneyed interests of the big corporations and out-of-state interests groups.”

“We are confident that these candidates will do what is right for all working people and will work to restore the balance to the halls of government.”

The affiliated unions of the Indiana AFL-CIO held its 2012 C.O.P.E (Committee on Political Education) on Friday, June 22, 2012 in Indianapolis to review candidate questionnaires and vote on endorsements. Additional endorsements of candidates slated in caucuses before June 30, 2012 may be made at a later date.

The Indiana State AFL-CIO (American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations) is a federation of 800 local unions across the state belonging to 50 International Unions. In total, the Indiana State AFL-CIO represents more than 300,000 working Hoosiers.

For more information on please visit or call 1-800-433-8423.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here