Stutzman announces Academy nominations

News release from Congressman Marlin Stutzman:

Stutzman Announces Academy Nominations

(February 11, 2011) – Congressman Marlin Stutzman today announced his nominations for admission to the United States Air Force, Naval and Military Academies. Stutzman’s Academy Advisory Committee, consisting of former and current military servicemembers and parents of academy students, made its recommendations after interviewing Third District applicants who met the academies’ basic eligibility requirements. These include United States citizenship and age restrictions as well as specific academic, leadership, medical and athletic standards.

The Academy Advisory Committee reviewed the eligible students’ essays and letters of recommendation and considered the students’ officer potential, academic strength, physical fitness and athletic involvement and motivation to serve in the military. Based on the committee’s recommendations, Congressman Stutzman offered nominations to the following individuals:

[list type=”BW”]
[li]Mr. Mitchell Dobson – Warsaw, Indiana[/li]
[li]Mr. Andrew Flegge – Fort Wayne, Indiana[/li]
[li]Mr. Kendal Frederick – Fort Wayne, Indiana[/li]
[li]Mr. Corey Gumbert – Fort Wayne, Indiana[/li]
[li]Ms. Leah Moore – Warsaw, Indiana[/li]
[li]Mr. Bradley Shipley – Goshen, Indiana[/li]
[li]Ms. Katlin Vanwye – Ashley, Indiana[/li]

While a nomination does not guarantee an offer of admission to an academy, a student may not enter an academy without a nomination from his or her Member of Congress or other Nominating Authority.

Congressman Stutzman represents the 3rd Congressional District of Indiana and serves on the House Committee on Agriculture, the House Committee on the Budget and the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, Subcommittee on Economic Opportunity. Indiana’s 3rd District contains all of DeKalb, Kosciusko, Lagrange, Noble, Steuben, and Whitley counties; as well as parts of Allen and Elkhart counties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here