Wind Chill Advisory until 10 am Friday morning

The National Weather Service has issued a Wind Chill Advisory until

URGENT – WINTER WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
357 PM EST THU FEB 3 2011

…DANGEROUS WIND CHILL VALUES TONIGHT INTO FRIDAY MORNING…

.A BROAD RIDGE OF HIGH PRESSURE EXTENDING FROM THE CENTRAL PLAINS INTO SOUTHERN INDIANA WILL SLOWLY SAG SOUTHWARD TONIGHT. SOUTHWEST WINDS OF 10 TO 15 MPH…POSSIBLY GUSTING TO 20 MPH CAN BE EXPECTED TONIGHT NORTH OF THIS HIGH PRESSURE. THE COMBINATION OF THESE WINDS AND TEMPERATURES FALLING TO AROUND ZERO IN MANY LOCATIONS WILL PRODUCE WIND CHILL VALUES OF AROUND 15 BELOW LATE TONIGHT INTO FRIDAY MORNING. PERSONS OUTDOORS SHOULD TAKE PRECAUTIONS TO PROTECT EXPOSED SKIN.

[…] …WIND CHILL ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 11 PM EST /10 PM CST/ THIS EVENING TO 10 AM EST /9 AM CST/ FRIDAY…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN NORTHERN INDIANA HAS ISSUED A WIND CHILL ADVISORY…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 11 PM EST /10 PM CST/ THIS EVENING TO 10 AM EST /9 AM CST/ FRIDAY.

* WIND CHILL VALUES…TO AROUND 15 BELOW ZERO LATE TONIGHT INTO FRIDAY MORNING.

* OTHER IMPACTS…EXPOSURE TO BITTERLY COLD OUTDOOR TEMPERATURES MAY LEAD TO FROSTBITE TO EXPOSED SKIN WITHIN 30 MINUTES.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A WIND CHILL ADVISORY MEANS THAT VERY COLD AIR AND STRONG WINDS WILL COMBINE TO GENERATE LOW WIND CHILLS. THIS WILL RESULT IN FROST BITE AND LEAD TO HYPOTHERMIA IF PRECAUTIONS ARE NOT TAKEN. IF YOU MUST VENTURE OUTDOORS…MAKE SURE YOU WEAR A HAT AND GLOVES.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here