City Council’s 2011 committee chairs and Council board appointments

The Fort Wayne City Council

Press release from the Fort Wayne City Council:

“Harper adds dimension to Council”
Also sets 2011 committee chairs; Council board appointments

(January 14, 2011) – Mitch Harper, R-4th, named 2011 City Council President at the meeting on Tuesday, January 11, announced at that same meeting the Chairs of each Council Committee for the year. For Finance Committee—Tom Smith, R-1st and Liz Brown, R-at large; Regulations Committee—John Shoaff, D-at large and Tom Didier, R-3rd; City Utilities Committee—Glynn Hines, D-6th and Marty Bender, R-at large; and, Public Works Committee—Karen Goldner, D-2nd and Tim Pape, D-5th.

Council members were also appointed to various boards and commissions for one-year terms.

  • Cable Fund Access Board—Tom Didier
  • City Plan Commission—Liz Brown
  • Downtown Improvement District—Mitch Harper
  • FW/AC Economic Development Alliance—Tom Smith
  • H.A.N.D.S—Tom Smith
  • Solid Waste—Karen Goldner
  • Councilman Glynn Hines was re-appointed to a new 4-year term on the PTC/Citilink Board.

President Harper, as many citizens are aware, is a knowledgeable local and state historian. Harper has asked that the City Clerk, Sandy Kennedy and the City Council’s Legislative Administrator, Molly McCray work to compile information on past Fort Wayne City Council members. All of the information will eventually be put on the City Council’s website; it will be added to as on a continuous basis. Harper announced the project on the occasion of honoring the passing of former City Councilman and Mayor, Paul Mike Burns.

As an adjunct to the website, Harper and Clerk Kennedy concur in encouraging a commitment to preserve display space in new City Council Chambers at 200 E. Berry as a way to give focus on the history of the city’s legislative body and memorialize contributions of former City Council members.

Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here