National Weather Service logo

A Red Flag Warning has been issued by the National Weather Service:

URGENT – FIRE WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
1004 AM EDT WED OCT 20 2010

…RED FLAG WARNING IN EFFECT THROUGH EARLY THIS EVENING…

.AN AREA OF LOW PRESSURE WILL CONTINUE TO DEEPEN ACROSS SOUTHERN ONTARIO TODAY. SOUTHWEST WINDS WILL STRENGTHEN ACROSS THE AREA TODAY AS THIS LOW CONTINUES TO INTENSIFY. THESE SOUTHWEST WINDS WILL BRING WARMER AIR INTO THE AREA…ALTHOUGH CONDITIONS WILL REMAIN DRY. THE COMBINATION OF THE DRY…MILD…AND WINDY CONDITIONS WILL RESULT IN DANGEROUS FIRE WEATHER CONDITIONS THIS
AFTERNOON INTO EARLY THIS EVENING. SOME LOCATIONS WILL LIKELY SEE MINIMUM AFTERNOON RELATIVE HUMIDITIES DROP TO 25 PERCENT OR LESS.

[…] …RED FLAG WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 2 PM EDT /1 PM CDT/ THIS AFTERNOON TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN NORTHERN INDIANA HAS ISSUED A RED FLAG WARNING…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 2 PM EDT /1 PM CDT/ THIS AFTERNOON TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING.

HIGH TEMPERATURES IN THE MID TO UPPER 60S WILL COMBINE WITH AFTERNOON DEW POINTS AROUND 30 DEGREES TO PRODUCE MINIMUM AFTERNOON RELATIVE HUMIDITIES OF 25 PERCENT OR LESS. IN ADDITION…SOUTHWEST WINDS WILL BECOME GUSTY TO 30 TO 35 MPH LATER THIS AFTERNOON…FURTHER ENHANCING THE RISK OF RAPID SPREAD OF ANY GRASS AND FIELD FIRES THAT MAY OCCUR.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A RED FLAG WARNING MEANS THAT CRITICAL FIRE WEATHER CONDITIONS ARE EITHER OCCURRING NOW…OR WILL SHORTLY. A COMBINATION OF
STRONG WINDS…LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY…AND WARM TEMPERATURES WILL CREATE EXPLOSIVE FIRE GROWTH POTENTIAL.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here