TinCaps Front Office Recognized as Top Midwest League Franchise

TinCaps Logo

Press release from the TinCaps:

TinCaps Front Office Recognized as Top Midwest League Franchise
Fort Wayne TinCaps receive top honors from league – Overall Team of the Year and Promotional Team of the Year

The Midwest League released its end of the year awards this morning with the Fort Wayne TinCaps receiving the John H. Johnson President’s Award as well as the Larry MacPhail Award. Abby Naas from the TinCaps, was also named the Midwest League’s Rawlings Woman Executive of the Year.

The John H. Johnson President’s Award, which the TinCaps won in 2009 as well, honors a “complete” baseball franchise that has demonstrated franchise stability, and significant contributions to its community, its league, and to the baseball industry. “We are thrilled to be recognized by our peers in this way,” said TinCaps President, Mike Nutter. “To be named Midwest League Organization of the Year for a second year in a row is a testament to the hard working and talented front office staff we have in place here in Fort Wayne. It’s a pleasure to come to work each day and interact with this group of individuals. We’ve only just begun to scratch the surface of what the TinCaps franchise can become.”

The Midwest League’s Larry MacPhail Award is presented to the team that demonstrated outstanding and creative marketing and promotional efforts within its community, its ballpark (including non-game day events), and in media and promotional materials. “This is the icing on the cake,” stated TinCaps Vice President of Marketing, Michael Limmer. “The team of the year award recognizes everything that happens behind the scenes, but the Larry MacPhail Award recognizes what the TinCaps try to do each and every day to entertain the fans at Parkview Field. Our front office staff prides itself on providing top-notch, affordable, family entertainment. We also look for ways to get better, bring more innovation to the ballpark, to the fan experience, and to the overall atmosphere.” A contributing factor to the TinCaps receiving this award is clearly the quality and quantity of events, in addition to TinCaps games, that are hosted at Parkview Field. In its first 540 days (through September 30) Parkview Field has hosted 605 events and over 960,000 attendees.

As the winner of the Midwest League awards, TinCaps are now being considered for both the John H. Johnson President’s Award and the Larry MacPhail Award at the national level. The national Minor League Baseball awards are given out at the Baseball Winter Meetings, which will take place this December in Orlando, Florida.

The Midwest League’s Rawlings Woman Executive of the Year is presented to a woman who has made outstanding contributions to her club, her league or to baseball. Abby Naas, who is responsible for all of the promotional and community relations initiatives of the TinCaps, was selected for her many
efforts, including the creation of the TinCaps CARE program in 2010 and the implementation of the TinCaps Community Organization of the Game. Both of these programs allow the TinCaps to work more closely with deserving organizations in the community. These two programs were in addition to her many other duties and the creation in 2010 of the TinCap Kids Club, which in its first year grew to over 2,500 members. Naas has been nominated to be nationally recognized by Minor League Baseball as the Rawlings National Woman Executive of the Year which is awarded in December.

Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here