Call for nominations: 2010 Outstanding Philanthropists Awards

Association of Fundraising Professionals - Northeast Indiana Chapter logo.

Press release from the Association of Fundraising Professionals – Northeast Indiana Chapter:

Call for Nominations: 2010 Outstanding Philanthropists Awards

(June 29, 2010) – Fourteen-year-old Katie Leonard received an award from the Northeast Indiana Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) because of her giving heart and her determination to do something to make the world a better place. Fort Wayne Metals Research Products Corporation received an award because of the company’s stellar track record of leadership in philanthropy. Frances Ganaway received an award because her straight-forward “can do” approach to volunteerism inspires people to step up and do the right thing.

Who might you add to that list?

AFP is issuing a Call for Nominations to honor the compassion and generosity of individuals and organizations whose gifts of time, expertise, resources, and leadership have made Northeast Indiana a great place to live. In the past six years, the AFP Northeast Indiana Chapter has had the honor of presenting the Outstanding Philanthropist Award to some amazing individuals and organizations.

At the age of 14, Katie Leonard was so moved by the tragic situation in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina hit that she organized a water drive that eventually filled three semi trailer trucks full of bottled water, canned goods, and baby items.

Fort Wayne Metals Research Products Corporation was one of the first in Fort Wayne to support a “joint community campaign concept” by running a workplace campaign with United Way and Arts United simultaneously.

Frances Ganaway’s full-time job is volunteering. She serves on many boards and committees including United Way, YMCA, League for the Blind and Disabled, Girl Scouts, and Downtown Rotary.

These are only three of the many stories AFP has to share about the organizations and individuals who have received an Outstanding Philanthropist Award in the past six years. All of them underscore the spirit of philanthropy and the passion of those dedicated to the noble cause of giving.

Nominations are being solicited from Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Huntington, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells, and Whitley counties for individuals and organizations who have also felt moved to “do something” that has contributed to the betterment of the world we live in. Awards will be presented in five categories:

  • Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy (K-12)
  • Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy (college age)
  • Outstanding Philanthropist
  • Outstanding Corporate Philanthropist
  • Outstanding Nonprofit Leader

Nomination forms can be downloaded at Completed nomination forms must be marked “CONFIDENTIAL” and mailed to: 2010 NPD Awards, AFP, P.O. Box 13498, Fort Wayne, IN 46869-3498. All nominations must be postmarked by Friday, October 1, 2010.

Those selected for recognition will be honored at northeast Indiana’s 7th Annual National Philanthropy Day® celebration on Wednesday, November 17th at Ceruti’s in Fort Wayne.


About the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) Northeast Indiana Chapter
The Association’s current membership roster lists 55 local fundraising professionals who represent over 40 charitable nonprofit organizations. These professionals work to advance philanthropy through advocacy, research, education, certification programs, and the promotion of high ethical standards. For more information visit or contact Robert Croft AFP Northeast Indiana Chapter president at (260) 568-0731 or


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here