In case you missed it, the KOMETS WIN!

Komets logo. 2010 Turner Cup Playoffs logo.

Press release from the Komets:

Matt Syroczynski named MVP

(May 15, 2010) – Fort Wayne can continue to call itself the defending IHL Turner Cup Champs for another year…..again!

Saturday night a sold out crowd of 10,480 at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum in Fort Wayne witnessed history as the home town Komets did it again! For the third straight season the Komets won the IHL’s Turner Cup Championship defeating the Flint Generals 3-2 and taking the best-of-seven Finals 4-1.

Never before in the 58-year history of the Fort Wayne franchise have the Komets claimed three straight championships. It’s only the second time an IHL team strung three straight Turner Cup Championships together. The Cincinnati Mohawks won five straight titles from 1953-1957.

Fort Wayne’s Matt Syroczynski, named the 2010 IHL Turner Cup Playoff Most Valuable Player, scored the first goal of the game and only tally of the first frame at 17:52 on the power play for a league high 11th goal of the post-season. The left winger finished the playoffs riding a four-game goal-scoring streak and point streak (6 goals, 2 assists).

In the second period Fort Wayne picked up where it left off by adding two goals by P.C. Drouin at 6:44 and 11:11. Drouin completed post-season play with an IHL-high nine-game point-scoring streak (5 goals, 12 assists).

The Generals fought back in the third frame on goals by John Ronan at 4:29 and former Komet Jake Pence at 13:00 but Fort Wayne stood it’s ground to finally collect the win 3-2 and claim the Komets’ seventh IHL Turner Cup Championship and eighth overall in the franchise’s 58th season.

Komet goaltender Nick Boucher collected his third straight championship with the Komets making 19 of 21 saves. Rob Nolan suffered the loss for the Gens stopping 39 of 42 Fort Wayne shots.

KOMETS CHAMPIONSHIP CELEBRATION TUESDAY NIGHT…..The Komets announced that the annual End-of-Season Party, and third consecutive Turner Cup Title Celebration Party, will be held Tuesday night at 7:00 at the Coliseum in the arena. The annual Komet Jersey Auction will be held with proceeds going to charity.

2010 IHL Turner Cup best-of-seven Finals
Fort Wayne wins series 4-1

  • Game 1: Saturday, May 8 at Fort Wayne 3, Flint 2
  • Game 2: Monday, May 10 at Fort Wayne 2, Flint 1
  • Game 3: Wednesday, May 12 at Flint 7, Fort Wayne 6, overtime
  • Game 4: Friday, May 14 Fort Wayne 6 at Flint 2
  • Game 5: Saturday, May 15 at Fort Wayne3 Flint 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here