Ivy Tech Community College honors top faculty

Ivy Tech Community College logo

Press release from Ivy Tech Community College:

Ivy Tech Community College honors top faculty

(INDIANAPOLIS) Ivy Tech Community College has selected 14 members of its faculty to receive the annual President’s Award for Excellence in Instruction.

In a tradition that began in 1983, one faculty member from each of the College’s 14 regions is chosen to receive the President’s Award. From the 14 recipients, one is then selected to receive the Glenn W. Sample Award for Excellence in Instruction, the College’s highest honor for faculty. The 2010 Sample Award will be presented June 23.

“Each of these individual President’s Award winners has made a continuous, significant impact on not only their students, but their communities,” said Ivy Tech President Thomas J. Snyder. “Literally thousands of citizens have had their lives changed by these phenomenal teachers. We are very proud that our faculty includes individuals who commit their teaching gifts and extensive life experience to their students.”

The 2010 President’s Awards recipients and their campuses are:

  • Bloomington: Larry Strain, Associate Professor, Computer Information Systems/Computer Information Technology;
  • Columbus: Anthony J. Gaudin, Professor of Biology;
  • East Chicago: Dale C. Downs, Dean of the School of Liberal Arts and Sciences;
  • Evansville: Daniel J. Dickman, Assistant Professor of Psychology;
  • Fort Wayne: Heidi M. Trumbull, Assistant Professor of Mathematics;
  • Indianapolis: Amy Hayes, Assistant Professor of Nursing;
  • Kokomo: Frances Breyer Hardin, Assistant Professor and Science Program Chair;
  • Lafayette: Jo Micon, Assistant Professor and Human Service Program Chair;
  • Madison: Scott M. Rahschulte, Assistant Professor of Medical Assisting and Science;
  • Muncie: Larry Gilbert, Associate Professor of French, English and Communication;
  • Richmond: Kathleen G. Campbell, Assistant Professor and Department Chair, Education and Early Childhood Education;
  • Sellersburg: Andrew J. Roberts, Associate Professor of Mathematics;
  • South Bend: Edith Gerdes, Associate Professor of Nursing;
  • Terre Haute: Charles R. Jones, Assistant Professor and Industrial Technology Program Chair.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public post-secondary institution and the nation’s largest singly-accredited statewide community college system with more than 150,000 students enrolled annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here