Bennett announces School Board and Principals Study Councils

Fort Wayne Community Schools logo

Press release from Fort Wayne Community Schools which is actually a forwarded press release from the Indiana Department of Education:

Bennett announces School Board and Principals Study Councils

Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Tony Bennett announced today the creation of a School Board Study Council and a Principals Study Council whose members will work with Bennett and the Department of Education to provide input on issues affecting Indiana schools.

“If we are going to prepare Hoosier students for the rigorous demands of a 21st century workforce then we must collaborate with the talented individuals who dedicate their time and energy to improving our schools from a grassroots level,” Bennett said. “These school board members and principals represent a diverse group of students, parents, teachers and administrators from across the state.”

Joining the Department of Education on the School Board Study Council are:

  • Sally Becker, Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation
  • Henry Fernandez, MSD of Lawrence Township
  • Rebecca Gardenour, New Albany-Floyd County
  • Mark GiaQuinta, Fort Wayne Community Schools
  • Katrina Hockemeyer, Hamilton Southeastern Schools
  • Fred Pries, Randolph Central Schools
  • Stewart Silver, Seymour Community Schools
  • Annette Wells, Lake Ridge Schools
  • Bill Wilson, Clarksville Community Schools
  • Gregory Wright, MSD of Washington Township
  • Kevin Patrick, Huntington County Community School Corporation

Joining the Department of Education on the Principles Study Council are:

  • Eric Ban, Crown Point High School
  • Jeff Cline, Fairfield Elementary School
  • Kim Deffenbaugh, Madison Consolidated High School
  • Beth Johns, Highland Elementary
  • Craig McCaffrey, Franklin Community High School
  • Jimmy Meadows, Stonybrook Middle School
  • Kristin Nass, Scottsburg Middle School
  • Shiela Noon, St. Anthony’s
  • Chad Smith, Pleasant View Elementary
  • Alan Taylor, Prosser School of Technology
  • Sally Vaught, Loper Elementary
  • Chuck Weisenbach, Roncalli High School

“The new study councils will bring experience, knowledge and a firm commitment to improved and measurable student achievement,” Bennett said. “I look forward to working with the new members to continue to improve Indiana education.”

Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here