Change to Pops Series performance

News release from the Fort Wayne Philharmonic:

Fort Wayne Philharmonic announces program change to Pops Series performance: Wynonna in Concert

(September 7, 2018) – The Fort Wayne Philharmonic today announced that due to unforeseen circumstances the January 26, 2019 Sweetwater Pops Series performance of Wynonna In Concert has been canceled and replaced with ukulele extraordinaire Jake Shimabukuro.
A favorite of local audiences, Shimabukuro has appeared several times at Fort Wayne’s C2G Music Hall and most recently with the Philharmonic at the Embassy Theatre in January 2016.
Heralded as a “hero” by Rolling Stone, no other individual has propelled the popularity of the ukulele more than Shimabukuro. Spanning freely across the multiple genres such as jazz, funk, folk, and classical, Shimabukuro has taken the four-string instrument to places not previously imagined. His appearance with the Philharmonic was the breakout hit of the year as one of the best selling Pops Series concerts of the Season.
Tickets holders to Wynonna In Concert are requested to contact the Fort Wayne Philharmonic box office at 260-481-0777 by October 8, 2018 to exchange, credit or refund their purchases. Philharmonic subscribers may still exchange or credit their tickets after the deadline in accordance with their subscriber benefit.


Fort Wayne Philharmonic
Now in its 2018-19 75th Anniversary Season, the Fort Wayne Philharmonic’s mission is to inspire and foster a lifelong love of symphonic music through performance and education. Music Director Andrew Constantine leads the Fort Wayne Philharmonic. All programming is made possible by the support of community individuals, businesses, corporations and foundations. The Philharmonic is a member of the League of American Orchestras and a funded member of Arts United of Greater Fort Wayne, the Indiana Arts Commission, and National Endowment for the Arts. For additional information, call 260.481.0777 or log on to the website at

Related Images:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here