INDOT “Paint the Plow’s” 12 designs



News release from INDOT:

INDOT Paint the Plow Campaign Produces 12 Unique Designs from 11 Northeast Indiana Schools
Voting now open in inaugural Paint the Plow People’s Choice Contest

(June 13, 2016) – What do you get when you combine a 1,000 lb. snow plow blade, a few buckets of paint and a bunch of dedicated, hard-working students? The Indiana Department of Transportation recently found out when 12 snow plow blades were painted by students at 11 area schools in the state’s first Paint the Plow campaign.

“The painted plows produced by the students are all very unique and creative,” said Chuck Neuenschwander, INDOT Fort Wayne District’s director of highway maintenance. “We are thrilled with the hard work, time and talent that each school put into turning an ordinary plow blade into a work of art.”

Paint the Plow is a community outreach campaign designed to pair area schools with one of INDOT’s 14 local maintenance units to paint a snow plow blade with artwork designed and painted by students.

Participating schools include Angola High School (Angola Unit); DeKalb High School (Waterloo Unit); Fremont High School (Angola Unit); Heartland Career Center (Wabash Unit); Horizon Christian Academy (Fort Wayne Unit); Howe Military Academy (Shipeshewana Unit); Lakeland High School (Shipshewana Unit); Mississinewa High School (Gas City Unit); New Haven High School (New Haven Unit); North Miami Jr./Sr. High School (Peru Unit); and West Noble High School (Brimfield Unit).

Designs ranged from colorfully painted school mascots to a beach sunset mural. The painted plows may be displayed at summer and fall events in each school’s community before being put into service next winter.

INDOT invites the public to choose their favorite snow plow design in the 2016 Paint the Plow People’s Choice Contest through Monday, June 20, at noon. Voters are encouraged to visit INDOT Northeast’s Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages to choose the best of the 12 Paint the Plow entries. This year’s winning plow will be awarded the People’s Choice trophy, presented to the school by INDOT officials.


Related Images:

Exit mobile version